Hugh J. Watson Award

Teradata University for Academics


Hugh J. Watson Award

The Hugh J. Watson Award honors and recognizes an individual whose significant achievements and high-quality contributions to the data and analytics academic community via Teradata University Academics embody the spirit and passion of Hugh Watson and his dedication to Teradata University. 

Established in 2017, this award is in honor of Dr. Hugh J. Watson, academic co-founder of Teradata University for Academics. This annual recognition will drive and ensure continued sustainability of Hugh's original vision for Teradata University for Academics.

The Hugh J. Watson Award is presented annually at a major conference, and no recipient can receive more the award more than once.

2020 Hugh J. Watson Award Winner

Lakshmi Iyer, Appalachian State University

Lakshmi Iyer, 2020 Hugh Watson Award Winner
  • details

Previous recipients

2017: Barbara Wixom, MIT
2018: Ramesh Sharda, Oklahoma State University
2019: Michael Goul, Arizona State University
2020: Lakshmi Iyer, Appalachian State University


  • Nominations (including self-nominations) accepted from March 1st through May 31st.

Eligibility & submission length

A 2-3 page document that highlights Teradata University contributions since initial Teradata University engagement, submitted to:

Selection committee 

The selection committee is comprised of Teradata University Program Director, Teradata University Executive Director and Hugh Watson.

Award winnings

  • Framed certificate
    $1,000 prize
    Recipient profile page on Teradata University for Academics

  • Previous recipients
  • Timing
  • Eligibility & submission length
  • Selection committee 
  • Award winnings